Safe access to legal cannabis aka marijuana is one of the reasons the Denver airport is receiving over 1,000 new people moving to the state per week, and On The Rise Magazine wanted the inside scoop. If anyone is familiar with the “Gold Rush” understands the significance of “now” because of all the opportunity that Colorado presents. The job market are booming, especially cannabis careers.
In order to get in on the cannabis scene, you simply have to be there (because airlines operated under FAA regulations and rules, it cannot be transported because marijuana is still federally illegal in the the United States Of America, and so does the post office.) Once in the state, cannabis is available for recreational use as well as medicinally. Colorado Residency is required for medicinal marijuana purchases, however anyone 21 years old and older can shop for recreational marijuana. Residency also allows for cheaper pricing. Though cannabis is legally sold and consumed, sales taxes are involved and not having Colorado residency costs more.
The CEO’s of On The Rise Magazine Rafael Cooper and Attica Lundy Cooper decided to take a huge chance and MOVE from the state of Georgia to the “mile high” state of Colorado. For Colorado residents with debilitating conditions (like Multiple Sclerosis) that would benefit from medical marijuana, a Colorado State “Red Card” can be obtained from a cannabis medical center. A doctor decides if a condition qualifies for “medical” and also determines of a patient will have an increased plant count. For OTRMag founder Attica Cooper, Multiple Sclerosis and residency qualified for a “Red Card” after visiting and being examined by Cohen Medical Centers and now personally can grow over twenty plus plants to treat the conditions of Multiple Sclerosis, Panic Anxiety disorder, syndrome, Restless Leg Syndrome, Severe Insomnia, Manic Depression, Chronic Pain, Seizures, Tremors, and more. Any Colorado resident whether medical or residential can automatically grow up to six plants “just because”.
Colorado residency is very important when thinking of working in the cannabis industry. In order to work in the industry, you have to have a ” Med Badge”. Med Badges are not the same as a “Red Card”. Med Badges allow for any jobs in the cannabis industry point blank period. “Enforcement Division (MED) has several strict requirements to even apply for your occupational license. Before getting to that list, one huge requirement is, and this should be common sense, you MUST be a Colorado resident. Obviously, the easiest way to prove residency is via a Colorado Drivers’ License, or a Colorado State ID. To get your Colorado ID, you have to prove that you live here. That means, before you even apply for your MED badge, you’ll need to bring in a utility bill from an address in Colorado, a credit card statement, a pay stub, or anything else that shows you live here.
Okay, once you’ve gotten that residency thing out of the way, you also need to make sure you:
- Are at least 21 years old.
- Have never been convicted of a felony related to the possession, distribution, or use of any controlled substance.
- Have not served a sentence, including probation or parole, of any felony in the last five years.
- Are not a licensed physician making patient recommendations.
- Have never had your authority to act as a primary caregiver revoked by the state.
- Are not the spouse or child, living in the house with any employee of the MED.
- Are not a police officer, sheriff, deputy sheriff, or prosecuting officer.
- Are not an officer or employee of the marijuana state licensing authority or a local licensing authority.
Unfortunately, if you do not satisfy any of these requirements, you will not be allowed to get your marijuana occupational license.”
Surprisingly, there are a lot of newcomers to Colorado that have been in the state for over six months with no Colorado residency. With real estate pricing getting higher in Colorado, many people residing in the state do not qualify for residency for various reasons (homelessness being one of the main reasons). Without residency, even if you qualify on all other areas AND having the $150 fee, you STILL cannot “pass go”. However, if you do pass all requirements, you could have a promising future in the cannabis industry. Colorado has earned the nickname “Mini-Amsterdam” and is already in its early stages a multi-million industry. The beginning stages, wow.
I know, I know, I know…all you are reading about are laws, rules, and regulations. But guess what? There are more laws and you need to know about them. So please be patient. After all, ten years ago who would have thought we’d even be having this conversation? So hear me out.
NOBODY can smoke outside. This is an important rule. You can only smoke in private vicinity and you must by 21 or older unless directed by qualified physicians. NO UNDERAGE UNAUTHORIZED USE AND NO USAGE OUTSIDE IN PUBLIC.
For recreational, if you a non-resident (from out of state), a dispensary can only sell you 1/4 oz (7 grams) and you can only have 1/2 oz at the most on your person. For recreational, for a Colorado resident, a dispensary can sell you 1 oz (28 grams), and you can have up to 2 oz at the most on your person. Laws change once you go to medical. You already know you have to be a Colorado resident, so that’s a given, but the amount of cannabis that dispensary’s can sell you for the standard level would be 2 oz or whatever the doctor has allocated for you and what the dispensary feels comfortable approving (4 oz, 5oz, etc) .
So what does that mean? It means that if you are willing to make the sacrifice and to take the chance, whether you are a medical patient or one that seeks recreational or even one that simply wants to get in on an industry that could set the stage for future generations to be taken care of, then Colorado may be your best move.
Reference sites http://dopedirectory.com/marijuana-news/how-to-get-your-marijuana-badge-in-colorado/